jump to navigation

More kool-aid December 4, 2011

Posted by applejosh in Geek.
trackback

For a little over a month now, I’ve been the proud owner of an iPad. When they first came out, I really didn’t think much about them. Just an oversized iPod was my thought. However, there are enough differences to make them actually quite useful and make me more productive (when I’m not playing Angry Birds or Cut the Rope).

It’s much easier to type on this than it is on an iPod/iPhone. Not quite as easy as a laptop or desktop, but the portability factor kind of makes up for that. Also, using any of the plethora of “notebook” applications is actually kind of cool. (eg. Penultimate, Noteshelf, etc.) While writing in these apps is not really “just like paper,” it is a little more subtle than typing on a laptop or tapping on the iPad onscreen keyboard while in a meeting. I decided a while ago that I needed to de-paper my life as much as possible. Apps like Evernote and Noteshelf help with that.

Web browsing is also pretty darn nice. The extra real estate makes a difference. And before anyone asks, no I don’t miss Flash. I dislike flash on my laptop (slow, buggy piece of junk), and actually prefer browsing on my iPad at times just to avoid it.

I kind of regret just getting the wifi version. While I really don’t have a need to have a cellular connection all the time, there are those very occasional moments when it would just be really handy. Maybe next time.

The other kool-aid I drank was in the form of an AppleTV. I’m not quite as excited about it as the iPad, but it does have its nice points. Mirroring the display of the iPad is pretty nifty, as is the ability to easily play downloaded movies and TV shows off the MBP. Netflix is OK, but I’m seriously thinking of dropping it. It was nice to be able to watch all the old Psych TV shows, but the movie selection is poor to say the least. And based on a lot of the news I’ve read, that selection is not going to get better any time soon.

Anyone else drink some kool-aid recently?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

